ALLservice Service Forum
support board, PC repair, unlocking solutions
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please, thinkpad R51 (1829-R6G) needs your help...Thanks!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Service Forum Forum Index -> IBM/Lenovo ThinkPad Password Help Center (EN)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
janez
Nou Venit


Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:58 pm    Post subject: Please, thinkpad R51 (1829-R6G) needs your help...Thanks! Reply with quote

Hello!

I have R51 (model 1829) with forgotten supervisor password. Anybody knows can Victor's tools help me with this model?
Is there any "photo tutorial" with few pictures describing how to do this procedure (connecting wires to eeprom, connecting to technician PC, etc.) or some "software" way to do it?
Asking because I'm not familiar with electronics...so, please, don't take amiss.
Thanks in advance!
Best wishes,

Janez
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
victor
S.F. Boss


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 2492
Location: Staff

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works for all TP models including R51.
This is a picture showing a R51 eeprom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
janez
Nou Venit


Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:01 pm    Post subject: Don't take amiss if this doesn't look professional. Reply with quote

Here is my interface shown on pictures. What do you think about it?
Thanks to Victor for his unselfish help to laics as I am.

Best regards,
Janez

P.S. Would R24RF08 tool declare some error if el.circuit isn't ok?






Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
victor
S.F. Boss


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 2492
Location: Staff

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The interface seems to be ok. Well done!
But the resistors value is wrong? I see there, red, red, black that means 22 ohms. You need red, red, red =2200 ohms. Maybe the picture is to blame but I strongly advice you to check again with an ohmeter to be sure. Don't try unless you are sure you have 2.2Kohms (color code-red,red,red). The rest of colors rep. the tolerance and temperature coefficient
Another mention, no need to bridge the pin5 to the COM ground, its already done by the port itself.

The table of errors:

1. Circuit unplugged - Circuit not found or bus error.
2. Circuit plugged, eeprom unplugged - eeprom not found (meaning the circuit seems to be good so far)
3. Circuit plugged, eeprom connected - program starts reading. Else one of the first 2 errors displayed.


Last edited by victor on Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
janez
Nou Venit


Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Victor,

as I supposed it's seems that you're right about resistors.
Unfortunately I didn't yet succeed to resolve this problem because I depend on my friend who made it for me and those 2 days his free time is short but I hope, in few days, we'll solve this problem and correct this mistake on the interface.
Then I'll send pictures again and results about success of the procedure.
Thanks a lot...

Best regards,

Janez
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidsbaker
Nou Venit


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:36 am    Post subject: Resistors in Oz Reply with quote

Hi Victor,
I must congratulate you on excellent work, I have successfully made the siprog cable and recovered the password from a T42p. I would like to however mention that the resistor coding on the one I have purchased in Australia are red, red, black, red, red. The shop labelling (if you could call it that) states they are 2k2 as required and testing them with an ohm meter shows 2198 ohm's. Are there different standards in different countries/manufacturers perhaps?

kind regards,
David.


Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
victor
S.F. Boss


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 2492
Location: Staff

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is possible for some manufacturers, I've seen many erratic notations so far. Always make sure that the components are good by checking them yourselves.

Excellent work!

Best Regards,
Victor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
awk
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

victor wrote:


The table of errors:

1. Circuit unplugged - Circuit not found or bus error.
2. Circuit plugged, eeprom unplugged - eeprom not found (meaning the circuit seems to be good so far)
3. Circuit plugged, eeprom connected - program starts reading. Else one of the first 2 errors displayed.


I get the message "Circuit not found or bus error" - can anyone tell me what this may mean?

Thanks
Back to top
victor
S.F. Boss


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 2492
Location: Staff

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The interface is not correct or not plugged in or bad serial port.

Give us some pictures or any details if you want our support.
_________________
Victor Voinea
ALLservice HQ, Romania.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
awk
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help Victor. How do I upload the picture?
I have also tried this on another pc in case it was the com port but got the same error
We have used telephone cable, could that be an issue. Is there a standard cable I should use.

Thanks again.
Back to top
victor
S.F. Boss


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 2492
Location: Staff

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you can't use imageshack or similar service, email us the files at support@

Don't use a null-modem cable. use a straight one (if necessary).

Good luck!
_________________
Victor Voinea
ALLservice HQ, Romania.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
victor
S.F. Boss


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 2492
Location: Staff

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The diode Z1 is mounted upside downm, in rest the circuit seems to be correct. (see photo in email)

Connect the DB9 female direct to the COM port and don't use a cable.

Good luck!
_________________
Victor Voinea
ALLservice HQ, Romania.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
awk
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just changed both diodes and now keep getting the message “Circuit not found or bus error”

Is it possible that the resistors have blown because of the wrong diode earlier.

Is there a maximum length of cable that is advisable to use for this reader.

I have also tried it on another pc with twin com ports! Crying or Very sad

Is there a standard type of cable that I should use, or is telephone cable ok

Thanks again for your help


Last edited by awk on Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
victor
S.F. Boss


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 2492
Location: Staff

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

change only the Z1, let Z2 as it was before!
_________________
Victor Voinea
ALLservice HQ, Romania.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
awk
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just changed both diodes to be certain they were ok. They are both facing the right way,,
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Service Forum Forum Index -> IBM/Lenovo ThinkPad Password Help Center (EN) All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group